IND vs ENG: Controversial Call By Umpire In 2nd Test Sparks Outrage On Twitter


2021-02-14 12:17:34




The second Test between India and England saw yet another controversy caused by an umpiring decision towards the end of Day 2 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. After Jack Leach trapped India opener Shubman Gill leg-before in the hosts’ second innings, Moeen Ali thought he had got India’s other opener too, but the umpire decided otherwise. England reviewed the decision. Ali had tossed the ball up wide of off-stump and Rohit Sharma came down the track and it hit his pad, with his bat behind his front leg at the time of impact. The umpire, however, said that there was a shot on offer, and the third umpire – based on that inference – ruled it not-out as the impact was outside off-stump.

Newsbeep

England captain Joe Root upon being told that by the umpire that he felt there was a shot on offer, looked frustrated and walked away even before the third umpire could return his decision.

The incident caused outrage on Twitter, as viewers made their displeasure about the decision known.

“Interesting review this by England, @ImRo45 lbw decision. Their contention must be that Rohit didn’t offer a shot.. But that is left to the umpire to interpret.. Did Rohit genuinely play a shot?  The umpire thought so.. But…….the debate will go on..” wrote former India cricketer and current India women’s team coach WV Raman.

“Clearly no shot there. Another off field blunder costing England a wicket and a review. This 3rd umpire… All there is left to do is laugh,” wrote one user.

Promoted

“It was poor umpiring from the onfield umpire, Rohit Sharma didn’t offer a shot, but the umpire decided the shot was offered,” wrote another.

“The umpire and third umpire have successfully robbed England of three wickets in this test match. There’s a reason neutral umpires were introduced,” another user wrote.

A failed review during India’s first innings on Saturday had also been cause for controversy as the third umpire failed to check if the ball hit the gloves on the way up after hitting Ajinkya Rahane’s pad after England appealed for a catch.

Topics mentioned in this article





Source link

Leave a Reply