Goods Trains Attain Speed Of Over 90 Kmph On Bhaupur-Khurja Section

2021-01-06 14:07:24

Eastern DFC: Freight Trains Attain Speed Of Over 90 Kmph On Bhaupur-Khurja Route

Alstom WAG 12 indigenous elocos operated on eastern dedicated freight corridor in inaugural run

Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor: Indian Railways recently operated freight trains at a speed of over 90 km per hour on the newly inaugurated 351 km long Bhaupur-Khurja section of the eastern dedicated freight corridor (EDFC), resulting in faster delivery of goods and turnaround for freight operations. On December 30, 2020, Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the Bhaupur-Khurja section of the EDFC as well as an operating control centre for the freight network through video conference. The Dedicated Freight Corridor Corporation of India Limited (DFCCIL), responsible for executing the dedicated freight corridor project in the country, is carrying out the construction of 3,342-km long eastern and western DFC for the movement of freight trains. (Also ReadIndigenous Locos Grace Opening Run On Bhaupur-Khurja )

According to a statement released by the Railway Ministry, after the commissioning of the new freight corridor section, commodities such as jute, coal, petroleum, steel, iron, container, and other minerals are easily transported in Punjab and Haryana area. Two fully loaded freight trains hauled by Alstom’s WAG 12 indigenous e-locos, each carrying more than 10,00 tonnes of coal and food grains, graced the inaugural run on the Bhaupur – Khurja section of the eastern dedicated freight corridor. 


Meanwhile, on January 7, 2021, the 306 kilometre long western dedicated freight corridor’s (WDFC) New Rewari – New Madar section will be inaugurated by the Prime Minister through video conferencing. The world’s first 1.5 kilometre long double-stack long haul container train between New Ateli and New Kishangarh will also be flagged off. The western dedicated freight corridor section of New Rewari – New Madar is situated in Haryana, (around 79 Km, in the districts of Mahendragarh and Rewari) and Rajasthan (around 227 Km, in the districts of Jaipur, Ajmer, Nagaur, Sikar and Alwar).

Source link

Leave a Reply